A Visitor

29 Nov

A special guest came to my professional writing class yesterday: President Allen! She has a background in technical writing and so my teacher asked if she would come and speak to our class. Since this is her first year as our President, it was especially nice to have this opportunity to get to know her and hear her plans for Meredith. She told us about her own life–her education at Meredith and her studies in graduate school, her first jobs, her career from teacher to president, and a few funny stories along the way. She also discussed professional writing and its importance. As she spoke animatedly to us, her love for writing was very clear. Aside from getting to hear from Dr. Allen as our President, it was also helpful to hear from a professional writer and see how our studies in class relate to the outside world.

 

In addition to sharing a little of her personal story, President Allen also answered questions. Many of these had to do with changes at Meredith and plans for the future. One thing she shared was her opinion that we should never change what we love about Meredith and what we’re good at. At the same time, we should be constantly looking for ways to improve and grow as long we don’t compromise who we are as a college. I think this is very wise because although there will always be room for improvement here and at any other school, there are also so many things about Meredith that we love and would never want to change. Hearing President Allen passionately talk about the college and plans for new programs and other ideas reminded me why I like Meredith. I can wholeheartedly say that I love my school and have always been thankful that I chose to come here.

 

Dr. Allen’s talk served to gently remind me how much I really do love my school, even during the stresses of final exams. Tomorrow is my last day of classes, and exams begin after that and go through next week. Needless to say, the past couple of days have been stressful and I have a feeling that the next few days will be, too. I stayed up much too late studying for a test last night and have art projects coming out of my ears, but I am comforted that I only have one more week until Christmas break! That reminds me, this will probably be my last blog post for this semester, but I’ll be back in January! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and can take time to relax and enjoy your family–that’s what I’ll be doing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

